CAS NS Forum (NO. 328):10:00 of 2019-10-21 in the Multi-functional Hall (2nd floor, South Building)

Data:2019-10-14  |  【 A  A  A 】  |  【Print】 【Close

Date:  2019-10-21

Time: 10:00

Venue: Multi-functional Hall (2nd floor, South Building) 


Prof. Vince Rotello, University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Bioconjugate Chemistry (Editor)

Prof. Jan van Hest,Radboud University Nijmegen (The Netherlands), Bioconjugate Chemistry (Deputy Editor)

Prof. Gang Zheng, University of Toronto,Bioconjugate Chemistry (Deputy Editor)

Prof. Bradley D. Smith, University of Notre Dame, Baltimore County, Bioconjugate Chemistry (Deputy Editor)

Prof. Erin Lavik,University of Maryland, Bioconjugate Chemistry (Deputy Editor)





Vincent Rotello is the Charles A. Goessmann Professor of Chemistry and a University Distinguished Professor at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. He received his B.S. in Chemistry in 1985 from Illinois Institute of Technology, and his Ph. D. in 1990 in Chemistry from Yale University. He was an NSF postdoctoral fellow at Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1990-1993, and joined the faculty at the University of Massachusetts in 1993. He has been the recipient of the NSF CAREER and Cottrell Scholar awards, as well as the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, the Sloan Fellowships. More recently, he has received the Langmuir Lectureship (2010), and in 2016 he received the Transformational Research and Excellence in Education Award presented by Research Corporation, the Bioorganic Lectureship of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), the Australian Nanotechnology Network Traveling Fellowship, and the Chinese Academy of Sciences, President's International Fellowship for Distinguished Researchers. He is a Fellow of both the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and of the Royal Society of Chemistry (U.K.). He is also recognized in 2014, 2015 and 2018 by Thomson Reuters/Clarivate as “Highly Cited Researcher”. He is currently the Editor in Chief of Bioconjugate Chemistry, and is on the Editorial Board of 14 other journals. His research program and spans the areas of devices, polymers, and nanotechnology/bionanotechnology, with over 550 peer-reviewed papers published to date.

Prof. Jan van Hest obtained his PhD from Eindhoven University of Technology in 1996 in macro-organic chemistry with Prof E.W. Meijer. He worked as a postdoc with Prof D.A. Tirrell on protein engineering. In 1997 he joined the chemical company DSM in the Netherlands. In 2000 he was appointed full professor in Bio-organic chemistry at Radboud University Nijmegen. As of September 2016 he holds the chair of Bio-organic Chemistry at Eindhoven University of Technology. The group’s focus is to develop well-defined compartments for nanomedicine and artificial cell research. Using a combination of techniques from polymer science to protein engineering, well-defined carriers and scaffolds are developed for application in e.g.  cancer treatment, immunology and ophthalmology.

Prof. Gang Zheng received his B.Sc. in Chemistry from the Hangzhou University (now Zhejiang University) in 1988 and Ph.D. in Medicinial Chemistry from the SUNY Buffalo in 1999. Following a postdoctoral training in photodynamic therapy at the Roswell Park Cancer Institute, he joined the University of Pennsylvania in 2001 as an Assistant Professor of Radiology and moved to Canada in 2006. He is currently a Professor of Medical Biophysics and Canada Research Chair in Cancer Nanomedicine (Tier 1) at the University of Toronto. He is also the Associate Research Director of the Princess Margaret Cancer Center. His research program focuses on developing clinically translatable technologies to combat cancer. Dr. Zheng is a Fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AMIBE) and an Associate Editor for the Bioconjugate Chemistry.

Prof. Bradley D. Smith is the Emil T. Hofman Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame, Indiana, USA. He is also Director of the Notre Dame Integrated Imaging Facility that supports university imaging research. He is the author of 250 research publications and currently Associate Editor of the ACS journal Bioconjugate Chemistry. His research group develops molecular probes for detecting and treating cancer or microbial infections in living subjects. Dr Smith has invented a series of interlocked fluorescent and photothermal dye molecules and converted them into imaging probes for a wide range of applications in biomedical science.

Erin Lavik is a full professor at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. She got her PhD degree at Massachusetts institute of Technology in 2001, master degree at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and bachelor degree in Materials Science and Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1995. She is working to develop translatable approaches to treat injuries to and diseases of the central nervous system including spinal cord injury, glaucoma, and retinal degeneration. The tools involve polymer science, drug delivery, and cellular therapy approaches. She is currently an Associate Editor of the ACS journal Bioconjugate Chemistry.

Prof. Zhifei Dai obtained his Ph.D. degree at Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry, Chinese Acaemy of Sciences in 1998. He is now a professor at Department of Biomedical Engineering, Peking University. Prof. Dai’s research is focused on sophisticated biomaterials, nanotechnology and ultrasound for the development of advanced drug delivery systems, molecular imaging and sensing of diseased cells and organs. He sits on the associate editor of Bioconjugate Chemistry and the editorial board of several peer-reviewed journals, such as Theranostics, Journal of Interdisciplinary Nanomedicine and so on. Prof. Dai is now serving as a Chairman of Contrast Enhanced Imaging Branch of China Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Association, a Vice-Chairman of Nanobiotechnology Branch of China Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Association, a Vice-Chairman of Imaging Materials and Technology Branch of Chinese Society of Biomaterials, a Vice-Chairman of Biomedical Photonics of Chinese Society of Biomedical Engineering, and a Vice-Chairman of Interventional Medical Engineering Committee, Interventional Doctors Branch, Chinese Medical Association.



Copyright @2005-, National Center for Nanoscience and Technology (NCNST)
No.11 ZhongGuanCun BeiYiTiao, 100190 Beijing, P.R. China
Tel:+8610-82545545 Fax:+8610-62656765 E-mail: Technical Support : Qingyun software